This Lie Will Kill You – Chelsea Pitcher

But the tiniest of sparks could give life to the greatest of fires.

Chelsea Pitcher

A year has passed since the suspicious passing of a young man at a party, he was connected to five people who we now follow through their attendance of a mysterious contest that would give one of them a $50,000 scholarship and help them leave their hometown and secrets behind. We follow Ruby, Juniper, Brett, Parker and Gavin through a night of odd events that lead them to wonder what the real reason behind the contest was, but they soon find out. Revenge.

This book was amazing. Not just a standard amazing, an amazing that means this book is going straight into my top 10 books I have ever read. I loved it! I started it at about 9pm Saturday night, but it down to sleep, and picked it straight back up in the morning and finished it at about 2pm, which is probably the quickest I’ve gotten through a book in (nearly) a single sitting. I got this in Amazon’s 2 paperbacks for £7.00 deal and it was recommended due to my interest in One of Us is Lying and Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (something I also (finally) bought in this deal).

Story? Perfect. Characters? Perfect. Ending? PERFECT. I cannot put into words what exactly it was that made this such a good book to me, it was a mixture of everything if I’m honest. My biggest surprise was that the romance was there, but not in your face. This was important to me because it was essential to the story but the reader doesn’t have to sit through the soppy moments between the characters. Pitcher doesn’t stray from the theme of the book in order to give us further background, she maintains the mystery throughout each of the flashbacks and scenes in the present world and it is glorious. I love her writing style, the detail in every line but the ability to hold back just the relevant pieces to keep us reading.

I could not recommend this book more, it was beautifully written and executed. I cannot fault it. The story flowed easily even though we were finding ourselves reading at one moment in the present and then seamlessly transferring into past experiences. A huge congratulations to Chelsea Pitcher for writing an amazing piece, she will now be an automatic read author for me, I’ve added her other titles to my Amazon wishlist and will hopefully crossing them off my TBR pile very soon.

Leave a comment